Lanny's Blog

Music Video of the Week- Relient K

I started listening to Relient K back in 6th grade, which has been quite a long time. Well, at least to me. They’ve gone through some changes through the years, such as a new drummer and bassist. And along with that, their music has changed as well.

The band, Relient K

Relient K

Their first albums were filled with fun, pop-punk anthems like Sadie Hawkins Dance, Pressing On, Hello McFly and Marilyn Manson Ate My Girlfriend. Over the years, the sound has grown and become more serious.

In a way, this band holds a special place in my musical heart, because I feel like their music grew up with me. The albums Mmhmm, Five Score and Seven Years Ago and Forget and Not Slow Down really began to show the maturity of this band and the excellent lyrical work of their lead singer, Matthew Thiessen.

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed each and every album and have numerous songs memorized. Every time I hear one of their older songs, I can immediately connect it to a memory.

Their latest album is Forget and Not Slow Down, and it’s a really solid record. The only thing I don’t like is the fact that there were no music videos to come from the album. So I will just have to share some of their earlier work. But luckily, these guys are working on some new stuff. So maybe we’ll get some new music videos from them in the future. (fingers crossed.)

This week’s video is from Relient K and the songs is called Must Have Done Something Right. And even though I hate soccer, I find this to be a really fun video and song. Check it out.

Tell me about your favorite Relient K song in the comments section.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

