Lanny's Blog

Random Facts About Thanksgiving

As most of you know, Thanksgiving is right around the corner. This holiday is a great time of year to get together with your family, eat tons of food, watch some football and for psychotic people to go out and murder one another while shopping.

two girls fightings

I’d like to point out that in real life, it’s never two hot ladies cat fighting. One can dream, though.

But, let’s not focus on the negative here. Thanksgiving is a wonderful holiday for people to give thanks.

For this post, I want to share some fun facts that I’ve been finding on the interweb. So sit back with your big, fat turkey leg and enjoy.

1. 91% of Americans eat turkey on Thanksgiving- That is really good news for humans and absolutely horrible news for turkeys. I’m sorry you have to die, but it’s your own fault for being so delicious. (Apologies to the vegetarian and avian readers.)

2. The first Thanksgiving lasted 3 days- In a way, I guess my Thanksgiving lasts about 3 days when you consider that I have to eat leftovers until it’s all gone. I’m not complaining, because I do enjoy the occasional turkey sandwich.

However, I’ve never had a feast last for 3 days. That would be a pretty fun party, but I think by like the 2nd day I’d be ready for everyone to leave so I could nap.

3. The first feast consisted of corn, barley, wild turkeys, waterfowl and venison– I’m definitely glad we have updated the menu since then. I’m not sure I could enjoy Thanksgiving without sweet potato souffle, dressing, and pumpkin pie.

4. The average adult consumes 4,500 calories on Thanksgiving day– Wow…you should be ashamed of yourself, fatty.

5. About 20% of cranberries consumed in the US are eaten on Thanksgiving- Really? I’ve never really understood the combination of cranberries and other food. It just doesn’t appeal to me for some reason.

6. Turkey breeding has changed due to Thanksgiving- It turns out that everyone loves big breasts…when it comes to Thanksgiving. Turkeys are now being bred to have bigger breasts since it’s so popular.

Mr. Bean

Oh, I know what you mean.

That’s it. Hope you enjoyed these fun facts. If you have any fun, unusual, hilarious or crazy facts, please share them in the comments section. Have a nice Turkey Day!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

