Lanny's Blog

Paranormal Activity 4- Scary Or Stupid?

It seems like yesterday when I first walked into the theatre to see the original Paranormal Activity. I had to go to a theatre in Atlanta to see it, because none of the ones close to me were showing it. I still remember having to sleep with the lights on for a few nights because of the psychological terror that it put me through.

a scared man

Yeah I was scared. And yeah, my blanket has flowers on it.

Should the Paranormal movies have stopped after the first one? Probably. I find that sequels are a tricky thing. I believe you should always leave your audience wanting more, and the first movie did that. However, with each sequel, I find myself a little less frightened and a little more immune to what these movies have to offer.

I liked the first one for its originality, and the concept seemed like a cool idea. Yeah, the “found footage” genre has been run into the ground ever since the Blair Witch Project, but Paranormal stood out to me.

With the fourth film, I read a few reviews that said the movie would only be enjoyed by fans of the series. If you didn’t like the others, you most likely weren’t going to like this one.

In my opinion, I thought this movie was good if you’re into scary movies. I’m not a huge fan of the genre, but I do enjoy the occasional scare.

In all honesty, I was hoping this was going to be the last of the series. I wanted them to wrap it up, answer all the questions and just let it be over. Unfortunately, the movie raised more questions and left you with an ending where you have no idea what to think. Most likely though, there will be a sequel headed your way next year.

Paranormal Activity has become the new Saw series. A sequel comes out every Halloween, the plot gets more complicated, and eventually most fans are going to jump ship before the conclusion. I’m actually one of those people who sat through every Saw movie because I wanted to know how it ended. I loved the plot twists and I also needed to know that my theories were correct. And yes, at the end of final movie, I was correct. And no, no one cared.

What I’m trying to say it that Paranormal will eventually run its course. I personally have enjoyed all four films, but I find that with each sequel, I’m starting to lose interest.

So is it scary or stupid? For now, it’s still scary but it’s approaching the line of stupidity rather quickly. But knowing me, I’ll still go to see the sequels because I have invested too much time and I need to know how it all ends. If it ever ends.

a skeleton watching tv

Paranormal Activity 105.

I think most people will get some good screams out of this film. It’s a fun and creepy ride at least. However, if you’re looking for some real terror, you should check out Tyler Perry’s acting in Alex Cross.

What did you think of the movie? Tell me your thoughts in the comments section.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

