Lanny's Blog

My Labor Day Playlist

Since it’s been a while since I’ve done an original post and I’ve slacked off on the music videos every week, I figured I would combine the two together in one big post to blow your mind. A mega post if you will.

So today is Labor Day, and to celebrate all you hard workers out there, I’ve decided to throw a list together of my favorite songs about working. So whether you work as a waitress or a business man at a fortune 500 company (which 99% of my readers do), I hope you will relate and enjoy this wonderful list I have thrown together.

5. Jimmy Eat World- Work- This song doesn’t actually talk a lot about working, but I thought the title was appropriate for the day.  It’s more about wanting to escape and get away. So if you have thought about quitting your job, leaving your town and starting somewhere new, then I dedicate this song to you. Also, if you’re young and working a crappy job, then this song is also for you.

4. Loverboy- Working for the Weekend- Let’s be honest, we all look forward to Friday and the weekend. This song puts that emotion into an 80s pop song. So all you hard workers out there, enjoy what’s left of your weekend!

3. Bob Dylan- Maggie’s Farm– If you have a boss that you strongly dislike or a job you hate, then this song is for you. If you’re not a fan of Mr. Dylan, then you should definitely check out Rage Against the Machine’s cover of this song. It’s fantastic. But, I’m a fan of Dylan’s version, so check out his video.

2. The Beatles- Hard Day’s Night- If you’ve been “working like a dog,” then let The Beatles cheer you up with their catchy tune. I know there are a ton of people who have to work ridiculous hours and I don’t know how they do it. But I have a great amount of respect for them. Here’s to you.

1. John Lennon- Working Class Hero- I won’t even pretend to know exactly what Lennon’s message was with this song, but I believe it was not to become so consumed in your job that you forget what’s truly important. Don’t sacrifice your character, integrity and beliefs just so you can be one of the “folks on the hill.” I could be wrong, but that’s what I get from it.

So there you go. 5 great songs, to help you celebrate Labor Day. Hope you enjoyed. If you know of any other great songs that you think should have been included, then tell me about them in the comments section!

Cheers.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

