Lanny's Blog

Who’s Ready for a Batman Reboot?

To the surprise of no one, The Dark Knight Rises has become one of the biggest movies in the world. The highly-anticipated final chapter to the Nolan trilogy lets the fans see how the legend ends.

Let’s face fact here; The Dark Knight trilogy is the best batch of superhero movies that have been made so far. They are the standard, that movies in the genre, strive to be like. I can’t think of another movie that even comes close to the success and impact of these films except maybe The Avengers.

Daredevil poster

And of course, Daredevil. But that goes without saying.

So what comes next for the caped crusader? Will Warner Brothers be satisfied with the millions of dollars they made and let the Batman rest in peace after a brilliant interpretation by Christopher Nolan? Of course not!

In fact, rumors of the reboot are already running rampant on the internet. I’m guessing they are going to reboot it in order to keep the rights and eventually bring the DC universe together to make a Justice League movie. And, if they go the same route as Marvel, that means we have to endure a bunch of backstory films that introduces all of the characters.

Aquaman

Which means we get to watch Aquaman be completely useless for at least an hour and a half.

So how will they reboot Batman? They can’t really make the stories darker, because Nolan pretty much took care of that. Will they resort back to the days of George Clooney running around in a rubber suit with nipples? Let’s pray we never have to see that again.

Now I don’t have any thoughts on what storyline the new movie should portray, but I have started thinking about what actors they should get.

Please don’t judge me for these selections because it’s just a thought process. If you have better suggestions, let me know about them so I can completely ignore them and bask in the superiority of my choices over yours.

That being said, here is my list of actors I would like to see in the next Batman film.

For Bruce Wayne/Batman, I would choose:

Jon Hamm

I think this guy really resembles the character of Bruce Wayne especially from the Animated Series and the more recent video games, Arkham Asylum and Arkham City. Anyone who watches Mad Men, also knows that this guy can act. So would he be worthy of donning the cape and cowl of the Batman? My vote is yes!

Alfred Pennyworth would be played by:

Anthony Hopkins

Anthony Hopkins

I would pick Mr. Hopkins not only because he is a great actor, but because everyone knows him for Silence of the Lambs. He deserves a chance to be known as a good guy for once.

The role for Alfred will be a difficult one to fill because I felt Michael Caine fit the part perfectly. Whoever takes over this role will really have some big shoes to fill.

For the bad guy, I decided to go with The Penguin and he would be played by:

Philip Seymour Hoffman

Philip Seymour Hoffman

If you were like me and checked out the casting rumors for The Dark Knight Rises before it started shooting, you probably heard Mr. Hoffman’s named dropped a few times. I was very excited when I heard the rumor that he was being considered for the Penguin role. This guy is a phenomenal actor. He’s been in some great films as long as you don’t count, Along Came Polly. To me, he really proved he could portray a villain in the movie, Mission Impossible:3.

Comissionar Jim Gordon would be played by:

Bryan Cranston

Bryan Cranston

If you watch the show Breaking Bad, which I highly recommend you do, then you know the amazing abilities of Cranston. From mild-mannered to merciless and bad-ass, this guy can do it all. As much as I would love to see him play a villain, I think he’d be really good for the Jim Gordon role.

These would be my first choices for the major roles in the Batman reboot. Sure, they may not be perfect and I may change my mind as time goes on, but for now I’m pretty satisfied with my picks.

Who would you like to see portray these characters? Share your thoughts and opinions in the comments section.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Who’s Ready for a Batman Reboot?

  1. Lanny's reckoning on said:

    Interesting, interesting. I think they can still make it dark like Nolan’s trilogy, because Batman needs to be dark, but it can be a little more comic-ish, if that makes sense.

    One thing I think they should do is use a younger Bruce Wayne. Almost give it The Amazing Spider-Man treatment (except better. Much better). And he could be less martial arts master and more street-wise detective (like John Blake. Don’t hit me). If they’re smart, they’ll find someone like Christian Bale was in 2005 – already known as an amazing actor, but not a house-hold name yet.

    Another thing they could do is use some of the more comic-like villains. Penguin, Riddler, Ivy, etc. (Especially Ivy. And Harley Quinn. And they should be gay together, because Ivy/Harley is practically canon.)

    The thing that really gets me is that they will obviously need a new Joker, right? Right. But where Jack Nicholson’s Joker is a dandy gangster, Heath Ledger’s Joker is basically a punk-rock anarchist. Their interpretations were perfect for their time. The problem is that Heath’s Joker is still relevant to our time, so I don’t see how they can reinvent The Joker successfully. They need another 20 years.

Leave a Reply

