Lanny's Blog

Music Video of the Week- My Chemical Romance

This week, I was transferring all of my music over to a new laptop and I stumbled across some old stuff that I had long forgotten about. One of the songs I came across was by a band called, My Chemical Romance.

When I heard the song, The Ghost of You, I automatically recalled the amazing music video they had made. It tells a pretty cool story within 3 minutes which isn’t always easy to do.

It’s about the band members being in the army during WWII. At the beginning, they are at a dance playing their music, drinking and having a good time. However, as the video progresses, you see them climbing the beaches of Normandy and taking fire, just like in the movie, Saving Private Ryan.

My favorite scene from the video is when the camera gives an aerial view and shows the dance floor. All of a sudden, the dance floor is taken over by a wave from the ocean and it changes into the scene where the soldiers are on the beach. It’s a really powerful shot and a pretty nifty editing trick.

Anyways, it’s a really good video and I hope you like it. Here’s the song, The Ghost of You, off the album Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

