Lanny's Blog

4 Types of Movies That Keep Getting Recycled

I thoroughly enjoy watching movies, but lately, I’ve noticed that a lot of movies look very similar. I watch the trailers, and I swear I have deja vu. It’s like when I watch the trailers, I swear I have deja vu.

So I started investigating to see which movies were extremely similar in style, theme and plot. And during my search, I found that there are 4 types of movies that keep getting recycled.

4. Movies about women getting revenge– If these movies have taught me anything, it’s that you should never piss off women, especially if they are undercover agents, spies or armed with any type of weapon.

an angry woman
I can’t see her hands, so I’ll just assume she has a switch blade or a rocket launcher.

I’m not picking on women here, but I have noticed that this plot gets used over and over and over. A woman gets betrayed, she gets pissed, she kills a bunch of people who wronged her and….roll the credits. I just gave away the ending to most of those movies. My apologies.

Examples: Columbiana, Salt, Haywire, Kill Bill, The Brave One, and I’m sure there are more I’m leaving out.

Even though this does get used a lot, I do find some of these films enjoyable. For instance, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was really good. But maybe Hollywood should step away from this plot for a while and see if they can come up with something else. Make some movies about angry men getting revenge…oh wait that’s been done to death too!

Death Sentence
Once you use Kevin Bacon in a movie about revenge, you’ve pretty much milked it for all it’s worth.

3. Horror films made like documentaries or with “found” footage– If I ever find a video camera in the woods or in a house and it’s got a tape in it, you better believe that I’m not going to touch it. Not because I’m afraid of what’s on the tape, I’m just afraid to have my name associated with a movie that gets less than 5% on Rotten Tomatoes.

This type of movie was innovative when the Blair Witch Project came out, but you can’t expect me to believe that there is that much “found” footage just floating around the world, just laying somewhere, perfectly edited.

I would also like to point out that every time a movie comes out in this genre, the reviews get worse and worse. Don’t believe me? Just look at these reviews from Rotten Tomatoes.

Blair Witch Project…85%

Paranormal Activity…83%

The Last Exorcism…73%

Apollo 18…25%

The Devil Inside…6%

chess
Check and mate!

So Hollywood, the next time you find footage, just leave it alone. The only people who will see it are gullible morons who think that eventually one of these movies will be really good. And yes, I am one of those gullible morons. So save me a seat.

2.  Movies about dancing- Every time I see a trailer for a movie about dancing, I really just can’t understand it. How many movies can you make about dancing? To me, it just gets tiring after a while.

The ones that really get me are the Step Up movies. Basically, it’s about gangs dancing against one another to prove how cool they are.

dance crew from Step Up
“Keep talking about my mama and I’ll kill you with these sweet dance moves!”

Whatever happened to gangs fighting and beating each other up? Instead they are dancing to show who is the biggest and baddest. I’ve never seen that happen in real life. But just imagine what that would be like.

Gang member 1: “Yo man, you better shut your mouth about my girl!”

Gang member 2: “Oh yeah, well what are you gonna do about it?”

Gang member 1: “Let me slip on my ballet slippers and I’ll show you, fool.”

Side not: If gangs danced, I’d probably stand a better chance of being cool enough to join one.

a nerd dancing
Watch out gentlemen, I’m about to do the Twist.

I guess it just bothers me to see such talent wasted. You see all these big guys who look like they are going to murder each other in an amazing action scene and then they break out and start dancing with each other. Ridiculous! And also well choreographed. There’s no way all those dance sequences are spontaneous!

Examples: Step Up 1-3, Stomp the Yard, How She Move, Footloose, and I’m embarrassed that I can name that many off the top of my head.

1. Movies about aliens– In 2011, Hollywood thought that aliens would become the new vampires. A ton of movies came out using aliens. Aliens were in comedies (Paul), action movies (Cowboys and Aliens), horror films (Apollo 18) kid’s animated movies (Mars Needs Moms), superhero movies (The Green Lantern), blockbusters (Super 8) and really sucky movies (I Am Number 4 and Battle Los Angeles). Hopefully in 2012, they will back off.

a guy bathing in money
“But aliens make me so much money! Screw quality! Money money money!”

At this point, if aliens ever invaded the Earth, I probably wouldn’t be afraid. I’m pretty sure Hollywood has covered every possible scenario and has shown us numerous ways we can survive. And if all else fails, we’ll just call Will Smith and he will save the day. After all, he has been in Independence Day and Men In Black 1-3. So at this point he is an alien expert.

What types of movies do you see getting recycled a lot? Share your thoughts and opinions in the comment section.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “4 Types of Movies That Keep Getting Recycled

  1. yep, this post is about 80% of movies

  2. Thanks for this – you had me laughing out loud during your dance movie rant…so true! I do have to point out that you neglected to mention romantic comedies – boy meets girl (or the other way around) some sort of ridiculous scenario ensues that keeps boy from girl, scenario becomes resolved in some over-the-top whacky way and boy and girl get together. Recycling may be good for the environment, but I agree that we need some originality from the film industry. Thanks again!

    • I actually did write a part about romantic comedies, but ended up taking it out. But you are totally right. Those movies do follow a specific formula and are so similar that it’s ridiculous. I’m glad you liked the post. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

