Lanny's Blog

The Two Best Anti-Drug PSAs of All Time

It’s astonishing how many young people are hooked on drugs these days. We can blame society, environment or entertainment for the rising use of illegal substances. I, on the other, believe the drug problem has grown out of control for one reason: Kids today don’t have great public service announcements or cool celebrities who tell them that “crack is wack.”

Lindsey Lohan

Exception: This picture actually keeps me from doing drugs and watching Lindsey Lohan movies.

The PSAs that are on today are pretty lame. They just aren’t as good as the ones I grew up with. What’s lacking is the presence of a great role model.

I was doing some digging on Youtube and found the two best anti-drug PSAs of all time. Let me say that they were made in the 80s so they are sort of corny. However, they are my favorite and I hope you will enjoy them too.

1. Pee Wee Herman’s Anti-Crack PSA– Now I know what you are thinking. “Pee Wee Herman is not a good role model. He got arrested for doing naughty things in an adult theater.” And to that I say, valid point.

However, Pee Wee was a character who inspired children and had an amazing show that I loved. So when he talked about crack cocaine and the danger of using it, you better believe I listened. Check it out.

Now how can you not take this man in a child-sized suit with a red bow tie seriously? He was deeply concerned about our well-being and wanted to make sure we never did drugs. And he never sent us mixed messages about cocaine.

Paul Reubens

Wait...Pee Wee went on to play a successful and rich cocaine dealer in the movie, Blow?

2. Clint Eastwood’s Anti-Crack PSA– I’m guessing that a lot of people didn’t take Pee Wee Herman seriously. So the PSA people sat down and discussed who they could get to keep kids from doing drugs and scare the crap out of them in the process. Enter Clint Eastwood.

clint eastwood

"Look and see if there is any crack cocaine in the barrel of this gun, dirtbag."

Who is manlier and a better role model than Eastwood? No one! Check out the PSA.

After watching that, I don’t know if I’m more afraid of crack or Clint Eastwood. I have a feeling Clint would kill me way before the drugs would. I may have my statistics wrong, but I think there are more youngsters killed by Clint Eastwood than cocaine each year. He seems like a loose cannon.

angry Clint Eastwood

If the cocaine doesn't kill you, this man will.

Do you know of any other old school PSAs? Send me some links or tell me about them in a comment.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Two Best Anti-Drug PSAs of All Time

  1. Johnny Depp on said:

    I didn’t realize he was in Blow!!! Holy shit.

  2. No Drugs for me! on said:

    The Pee Wee one was sooo creepy!

Leave a Reply

