Lanny's Blog

Food, Family and Call of Duty

Thanksgiving is one of those great holidays where we celebrate what we are thankful for, eat way too much food, and spend time with the family. It’s one of my favorite holidays because it’s like a warm-up before Christmas. I get a chance to stretch out my stomach, that way I can really pack in the fattening food when Santa comes around.

Santa Claus

He might be a bad role model when it comes to obesity.

This Thanksgiving was actually pretty fun. I recently made one of the best investments in my life. During the week, I went out and purchased Xbox Live and the new Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. I’m only about 7 or 8 years late to the game, but better late than never. This game was so frustrating at first. I literally couldn’t shoot anyone. I was just a sitting duck. And all the while, I had to listen to all these smart-mouth gamers tell me how badly I sucked. It was an eye-opening experience…

angry gamer

"I will eat your unborn children!" Yeah it got graphic.

However, after a few days of rigorous practice and patience, I finally started getting the hang of it. It’s actually pretty addicting once you develop some strategy, level up, and Google “how to get decent at Call of Duty.”

After a morning of Call of Duty, I went to see some family, ate way too much, came home to play video games, ate too much again, played more video games and now I can’t help but feel lethargic and disappointed with my lack of self-control.

slices of pumpkin pie

One piece is just never enough.

So that, in a nutshell, was my Thanksgiving. It can be summed up in 3 words. Food, family and Call of Duty. What did you do for Thanksgiving? Tell me about it in the comments section!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

