Lanny's Blog

3 Things We Should Stop Drinking

I’d like to consider myself somewhat healthy. I try to eat right and exercise, because that’s what I was taught in gym class.

Kid getting hit with ball.

I was also taught who to pick last for sports. Gym class was cruel.

But recently, I’ve been doing some research about what we have learned is healthy may not be necessarily true. I ask that you take the information I’m about to share with a grain of salt and decide for yourself. Here are 3 things we should stop drinking that you might want to consider:

3. Bottled Water– Now I’m not saying you should stop drinking water all together. That would just be stupid. And dangerous. And deadly. I’m just saying that realistically, tap water is actually better for a few good reasons. For one, bottled water costs a lot more than tap water. It’s odd that we complain about gas prices, but then pay $1.50 for 20 ounces of water. It’s also been proven that tap water is cleaner. When you have companies like Coca-Cola and Pepsi bottling water, you have no idea where it really came from.

man in tub

The main source of bottled water.

It’s also important to mention that most water bottles don’t get recycled and just add to the trash and can hurt the environment. Also, for us lazy people, tap water is so much easier to obtain. You just go to the faucet and turn it on. That’s it. We have clean water running to our homes and we mock it by going out and buying water in plastic bottles. I’m ashamed of myself, because as I type this, I have two water bottles on my desk. Hypocrisy!

2. Soda– Wait a minute? You’re saying a drink filled with sugar and no nutritional value is bad for your health? Why yes. Yes I am. Soda is actually pretty bad for you and can lead to numerous health problems such as diabetes, obesity, osteoporosis, tooth decay, gastrointestinal problems, liver disease and gout. In moderation, I’m sure soda is fine. I mean, most people use it for caffeine to get through their day. Now if you’re drinking 10-12 sodas a day then there might be a problem with that.

a kitten drinking soda

Side note: Kittens can easily get addicted to soda.

But what’s baffling to me, is that most people know sodas are full of calories and sugar, and yet the soda machines line every hall in our schools. When I was in high school, there were soda machines outside of the gym. So after a nice, hard workout I could replenish my body with some nutritional Pepsi-Cola.

1. Milk– It does a body good, right? Well in a way that’s debateable. From what I’ve read, there are unwanted ingredients in milk such as hormones, antibiotics and pesticides that can be bad for us.

girl drinking milk

These pesticides are delicious!

Also, less than 40% of adults retain the ability to digest dairy properly. I found this quote on usatoday.com:

Being able to digest milk is so strange that scientists say we shouldn’t really call lactose intolerance a disease, because that presumes it’s abnormal. Instead, they call it lactase persistence, indicating what’s really weird is the ability to continue to drink milk.

Humans are the only species that continue to drink milk after infancy. The problem with milk is that it is used to make so many delicious things such as ice-cream, cheese and pretty much every baked good like cakes and pies. So just suck it up and drink it!

So there you have it. What are some other drinks or foods that you have researched and found to be bad for your health? Tell me about them in the comments section!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

