Lanny's Blog

What Are We Afraid Of?

Fear is a funny thing. It causes us to become paralyzed. It can keep us from going after our goals and our dreams. It’s happened to me a few times, and it still plagues me to this day. But when you stop to think about it, there are a lot of things we should be afraid of.

One of many things I'm afraid of.

But it’s not the things we fear, but how we react to them. I would like to look back one day and say that I stood up to my fears and conquered them. I’d like to take all the petty things I’ve worried about and just forget them. I want to keep my head held high and look into the face of my fears.

Example of how a real man faces fear.

In the end, I guess we have to decide what we are going to do. Do we fear petty things that can keep us from moving forward? Rejection. Failure. Hurt. Pain. These are all just words. But these words can keep us from doing great things.

So slowly, but surely, I will one day face the things I’m afraid of. Sure I’m going to take baby steps, but at least they are steps in the right direction. And I think that’s all that really matters. After all, Rome wasn’t built in a day. At least it’s progress.

And when in Rome, do as the Romans do.

It’s going to be a journey and it may take awhile. But who cares? As long as everyday you are trying to conquer a fear, then you’re doing pretty good in my book. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

