Lanny's Blog

Rednecks: The New TV Trend

The world of entertainment has followed some odd trends over the years. I remember when reality TV was just starting out and it grew very popular. The first reality show that I can recall was Cops. Which is ironic because most “reality celebrities” end up in prison.

But in the last few years or so, we’ve seen an even more bizarre phenomenon taking place. Our homes are now filled with redneck stars that have somehow gained fame.

The wonderful world of reality TV has brought us gems such as Duck Dynasty, Moonshiners, Here Comes Honey Boo Boo, and the newest addition, Buckwild.

I personally thought once we all got past Jersey Shore, it would be really difficult to replace their interesting and almost disturbing lifestyle. But once again, I was wrong.

Jersey Shore cast

We scraped the bottom of the barrel for these clowns and discovered that the barrel was deeper than we thought.

Now the world of reality TV has produced a new trend that has created conversations and clever status updates on Facebook and Twitter. A lot of them have been from yours truly. We have stumbled into the world of the redneck.

The first show that began to display this lifestyle was Duck Dynasty. I have no problem with this show and I know a lot of people who enjoy it. I think it’s hilarious that these guys started a business of making duck callers and ended up turning it into a million dollar empire.

But then, there are shows like Honey Boo Boo and Buckwild. And these people are just idiots.

First of all, Honey Boo Boo really bothers me. This girl has been raised in the world of beauty pageants where everything is fake and the girls are shallower that the kiddie pool in my front yard.

kiddie pool

Ladies, the water is fine.

And what’s even worse about this show is that it is on The Learning Channel. You know where you are suppose to learn stuff? If Honey Boo Boo is on The Learning Channel that technically makes her a teacher. And technically, that makes us stupid.

Now, let’s talk about Buckwild. Sweet Lord.

First of all, if you are speaking the English language, and you need subtitles so the viewers can understand you, then there is a problem.

Second, why in the world was this show even made? We are glorifying people who do stupid things, get in fights, drink all the time, and have no decency. But guess what? I’m just as guilty because I watch every episode and I will continue because it makes me laugh. I’m part of the problem.

Somehow, MTV looked into my mind and the majority of people my age and found that we all have one thing in common; we love to watch stupid people do stupid things.

I’m not sure what’s so addicting about these programs. Maybe after I see a few episodes, it helps me to feel better about myself and my life. Sure I got a flat tire, my dog peed on the carpet and I got stuck in traffic, but at least no one recorded me eating boogers or drinking so much beer that I ran around the town in my underwear. So it’s still a good day.

What do you think of these reality TV shows? Tell me your opinion in the comments.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment